“A university stands for humanism, for tolerance, for reason, for the adventure of ideas and for search of truth……………………….” (Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru)

Director of Higher Education,  Assam looks after all the affairs of the Universities, Govt. Colleges, Provincialised Colleges, Non-Provincialised Colleges, Sanskrit Education, Literary and Voluntary Organizations of Assam. The Institutions under the administrative control of Higher Education (General/ Sixth Schedule/ BTAD areas) areas as follows..

Profiles of Universities/Colleges etc. 

  • Universities – 10 nos.

Central University – 2

Assam University, Silchar

Tezpur University, Tezpur

State Universities – 8

Under General Area – 5

                                       Gauhati University, Guwahati

Dibrugarh University, Dibrugarh

K.K.  Handique State Open University,

Kumar Bhaskar Barman University

Womens University (Proposed)

BTAD (under sixth scheduled)– 1

       Bodoland University, Kokrajhar


Private University        - 2

Don Bosco University

Down Town University


next page